Fashionable Beyond Their Years: The Young Ones Teach Us A Lesson

Day 362: Items Purchased:0, Temptation Radar 0

December 28, 2011

A couple of days ago, we had the opportunity to celebrate my sister-in-law Stephanie! Interestingly enough, her birthday falls on Christmas day, so we are all extremely deliberate about stepping outside the guise of Christmas to honor her special day.  To sum it up, Stephanie enjoys the lavish romanticism of all things traditional, feminine, and lovely.  She appreciates beauty in every element from the individual artistry of an oil painting, to shining sterling and fine porcelain. She loves sparkly crystal and over-the-top fancy; Lilly Pulitzer, her style icon. To know Stephanie, is to know this very well.  So, it would be no surprise to her family that they’d receive an invitation to the 2nd annual Garden Birthday Soiree for the belle of the ball.  We were notified of the dress code, ladies: pretty dresses, gents: bow ties.

For me, the evening was delightful. I, in true shop-starved form, had nothing quite lovely enough to fit the party (historically, I would have bought something), so I just wore an old favorite of mine…a hype dress from Hattie’s. During the evening I realized that I was being style-influenced by two extremely beautiful and young ladies: 17 and 19 years of age.  I have to say, in a culture where our youth decides that less on their body is more, that grunge and hipster is dressed up enough for a church service, or dinner out, I’m comforted and inspired by the sweet feminine simplicity of this….

Caroline and Aarik are, in my opinion, the epitome of class and demure femininity. They are fashionable beyond their years. I’m proud of these girls, not just for their keen fashion sense, but also for what they represent on the inside.

And, of course when I see something photo worthy, I have to get myself in on the opportunity. lol

Aarika and I pictured with the Birthday Girl.

Check out the cutest dancers at the party….

Leave a Reply

