LMSIS: Last Minute Shop Impulse Syndrome.

Friday December 23, 2011

Day 356: Items Purchased:0, Temptation Radar: 0 (too stressed for temptation)

What a crazed week of shopping it’s been! Of course, the most unenjoyable kind: for last-minute Christmas gifts. On Thursday, I still had 60% of my gift list unaccounted for. I also lacked inspiration for some VIPers (i.e. MY HUSBAND & MY MOM) and still suffered tremendously from impaired shop mojo.

After endless wandering, hem-hawing, tearing up (christmas time female issues–the worst. ugh), and a few mild retaliative incidences against insane road rage-ers, I FINALLY scored a gift for Steve.  Obviously, I’m unable to share with you here. You should know that I was so giddy at the counter, the sales person just stared at me as if I was the most bizarre customer of the day. The gift, clearly lacking luster equivalent to my glee, caused the clerk to look at the present while looking back at me and scratch his head quite bewildered.  Nonetheless, I skipped out singing, to the tune of  Deck the Halls, “I-found-Steve-the-perfect-gift…Fa-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la!” 

Next, I went to Target and it was a PAR-TAY! Normally prey to an insidious case of  LMSIS: “Last Minute Shop Impulse Syndrome”, I was able to conquer the twitch by focusing on the weeks ahead. I reminded myself AGAIN that each member of the family  has plenty to open. I took further precaution by asking Steve to stuff his own stocking. Is that a problem? Nevertheless, I rolled out of Target with 2 stocking stuffers for the kids, mistletoe and an extra roll of wrapping paper.

After at least 3 hours of wrapping, some cleaning, hiding an elf , and watching Steve’s toy assembly (another blog post entirely), I was out cold on the couch…mouth wide open with, perhaps, a snore. But,  I’ll never tell.

It’s almost here! Tomorrow is Christmas Eve!

Leave a Reply

