A Warm Gathering Of Friends

December 21, 2011

Day 354: Items Purchased:0, Temptation Radar:0

I never want to take for granted the gift of friendship.  Over the years, my husband and I have been richly blessed by remarkable couples who have spoken into our lives volumes of love, wisdom and encouragement. They have, in many ways, been the folks who inspire and enrich us, sharpen us and make us smile. They are kind, gracious, trustworthy, uplifting and most of all…just allow us to be who we are. This kind of comfort, transparency and authenticity in friendship is difficult to find. I must say, we are abundantly blessed.

Each year, at this time, I host a Christmas gathering…a celebration of these treasured relationships. I love the sound of their voices and laughter filling my home. I enjoy hugging necks and catching up. Last night, we were together again, celebrating the joy of the season and spirit of Christmas. I hope this holiday  you are able to honor the ones you love, in the way that suits you best. For me, it’s an evening at home blanketed in the warmth of friendship and yummy desserts.

 
My first guest (who only stayed a few minutes) was Annabelle, our niece.
The dessert spread which included homemade strawberry cheesecake, toffee chip cookies, almond cluster, red velvet whoopie pies, and chocolate peanut butter brownies. YUM!
This was the first year that all of my desserts were homemade!
This last photo was taken of me, by Steve, at the end of the party. Note to self: Never opt for photos after the soiree. I’m beat!
One response

  1. Pingback: The 12 Days of Shopfast (Last Days, that is): The Clothes in Review | SHOPFAST 365

Leave a Reply

