An Ode to Steve

Day 316: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar:0

First comment: I would like to announce that I spent my entire $45 dollars worth of Target Gift Cards last night. More importantly, I SPENT THEM ON MY CHILDREN…jeans and warm duds. I knew it was the right thing to do, realizing that I have more than enough for the remainder of the year. That’s right, folks. 

Now, I’m going to make a bold statement, and a few weeks premature, nevertheless:

2011 Has Been The Best Year Of My Life.

On paper, people would scratch their heads, I think wondering, “What’s she so happy about?” After all, we did experience a few health setbacks. I took a significant, unexpected pay cut beginning in March. We did not take any luxurious vacations. I certainly have not purchased new clothes or toys or anything overly indulgent for that matter. I’ve spent less time with friends. I’ve spent more time at home.  My life, to the adventurer, surely must look a tad boring. But for me, my children are growing strong and mighty. My husband still as adorable and dreamy as he was when I married him, and growing into such a fine leader of our family.  I feel full and very content.

This is the also the first year that I’ve dealt with very little insecurity and have experienced increasing boldness to walk freely in what I believe…sometimes even penning it in permanent marker. 🙂 I love my family. I think this is the first year I truly realized how deeply.

I want to talk a little about my husband, Steve. He is like the strong silent statue of wisdom in my eyes. I think he flies under the radar, often, in regards to people recognizing his strength, devotion and gifts. He is the most remarkable person I have ever met. I don’t tell him nearly enough. I never worry about him. He’s trustworthy, and a man of tremendous character. He keeps his word and he loves us. Because he is so strong in character and beliefs, he can frustrate my patience at times, but it’s easy to overlook. Very easy. When I view society today and a somewhat disturbing evolution in the traditional definition of “family”, I thank God that Steve cares enough to preserve ours. I often say, “I don’t need much”, but the truth is…I need him VERY MUCH. We are one person. Life wouldn’t work the same for me without him.

Why the love fest for Steve? I don’t know…really. It started early last week when I was reading a passage of scripture,

This is a trustworthy saying: “If someone aspires to be an elder, he desires an honorable position.” So an elder must be a man whose life is above reproach. He must be faithful to his wife. He must exercise self-control, live wisely, and have a good reputation. He must enjoy having guests in his home, and he must be able to teach. He must not be a heavy drinker or be violent. He must be gentle, not quarrelsome, and not love money.  He must manage his own family well, having children who respect and obey him.  – I Timothy 3:1-4

I read it and thought, “Oh my Lord. I really have this type of man living in my house.” Though the passage is describing prerequisites for men in church leadership, I saw it as confirmation of the gift that God had given me and my children in our Steve.

Every wonderful and memorably significant thing in my life has been with Steve. From my first designer handbag and jet setting from places like New York to Paris or building a home and welcoming children into it, Steve has been holding my hand..literally. Because of his love and faithfulness, I really believe that life is great. We’ve been married nearly 11 years, yet I met him when I was only 19. Through the unpleasant years and unsteadiness of my youth, he waited for me. I value that more than anything with each year that goes by. We are not the life of the party. We’re not high society, affluent or even well-connected in that context. But, we are rich; rich in love and God’s graciousness. And honestly, I can’t think of anything more satisfying.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

