WILL WORK FOR GIFT CARDS: THE DREAM CAME TRUE!

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Day 293: Items Purchased:0, Temptation Radar:0

Every now and then, I have one of those days where I’m reminded of special things that, perhaps, have taken a back seat in the current season of  my life. In times like these, it seems as though God grants me a small revival of certain gifts, talents or abilities that seem to have become dormant.  I’m always thankful for these little glimmers of hope  because they remind me of vision and purpose; that the dreams on the inside are still alive, even in the waiting. It’s no secret, this has been a year of pruning for me. Peeling back. Evaluation. More surrendering. Growing deeper roots. Sometimes it has felt tremendously lonely and like I’m making little progress. Other times, suddenly, when I least expect it, I’ll get a spark of inspiration–a reminder of the good gifts and a preview of things to come. Today was one of those days. I feel so grateful, it’s hard to put it into words. Two weeks ago, I received a message from a friend of mine asking me to take pictures of her beautiful baby bump. She is weeks away from meeting her new baby boy.  First, let me say that when someone asks me to capture  a monumental event, such as a pregnancy or newborn, many feelings begin to surface. I always feel both shocked and humbled that someone would trust me with such a special undertaking. Then, I feel anxious and immediately want to say no.  I begin to relive the performance pressure and anxiety that in so many times past squelched my photographic creativity.  I retired from my little business a year ago, when I felt God was leading me in a different direction, and realized that  I’d acted prematurely, and dare I say, in disobedience when starting the business.   Although disappointing, it was a huge relief. Walking away set me free to enjoy photography in a stress-free capacity, on my own terms, and enables me to gift it to friends and family when I’m able.  When Mandy called, I gladly accepted.  Incidentally, she just so happens to be the co-owner of my fave local fashion haven: Hattie’s Branches!!!!  So guess who got a very generous gift card!? WOOT! WOOT!  I really enjoyed being with Mandy and her wonderful husband! Perhaps the part that moved me the most while photographing them, was how genuinely affectionate and loving they were to each other. No pretense. No show. Just pure unadulterated bliss. My sincere hope is that I was able to adequately preserve a bit of that.

 

 

This evening, I’m editing all of the beautiful images and smiling because not only did I get to be a part of her special time, I may too get a new outfit to wear for Thanksgiving!  Thanks, Mandy….for everything.

(P.S.  I never put bellies on the internet unless I have express permission…thus no preggo shots here. )

3 responses

  1. LOVELY! Happy to learn a little something new about you, too. I had no idea that you had a little photography business. I’m currently trying to figure out how to incorporate my photography skills into my work as a graphic designer. These shots are beautiful, Aimee!

Leave a Reply

