“Run Forrest, Run!”

Day 288:  Items Purchased:0, Temptation Radar:0

Tuesday, October 18th.

Recently, I received a lot of encouragement from my Facebook community about running.  I have always really admired people who set athletic goals such as competing in a triathlon or marathons.  It’s certainly a venture I’ve never considered simply because I lacked the confidence.  Jogging has been something I’ve done over the years, sporadically, as a form of exercise with my maximum distance landing at about 4 miles.  Last week while I was in my work meeting, I was introduced to a new girl on our team who was a marathon runner.

“I don’t know how you do it! I get so bored after 3 miles. How do you just keep running for 26 miles?”

“It’s mental”, she responded.  “You have to run out.  Your problem is that you’re running in a circle.”

This past Sunday, I decided to test this theory. I aimed to run from my home to my parents’. In true Forrest Gump fashion, I just kept running. The distance is 7.2 miles and to my surprise, I completed it in 75 minutes.  I actually felt great…until later in the evening when I realized that the function of my thighs, hips, knees and inner thighs had been seriously compromised. Nevertheless, after learning that my time was half-way decent pace for a beginner, it occurred to me that I might be on to something. Maybe I really CAN run!  I don’t know that I will actually compete. However, I’d like to think I could. One thing’s for sure, I looked like a complete idiot during Sunday’s jog. Picture this: I’m holding an iphone with music blaring, because I don’t own ear buds, or an iPod. I wore my gold watch because I don’t have a sports watch, and I traced my distance via the maps app on my iPhone. Basically, I asked the phone for directions to my mom’s.  This, my friends, is grass-roots marathon training at its finest.  Today, I felt tremendously unsatisfied by my dorkiness, decided to make a stop at Fitniche, and make an investment in myself.

Cheers to New Endeavors (Fist Pump) My own personal gps. lol.

3 responses

  1. You go girl! Also on your iPhone, there is an app called runtimer. It will map runs and track progress! I used it until I got my Garmin and it’s great! It even calls out your distance and speed. Let me know if you ever want to run sometime! So did you run the 7mikes back or call for a Taxi? 🙂 Proud of you!

    • Hi Cathy! I did NOT run back….probably because I was afraid…very afraid. I just finished my first short run of the week tonight, but my little Nike thing didn’t work well. It said I only recorded .8 miles, but I went 2.8. What’s up with that? Maybe I’m having calibration issues. In the excitement of the moment, I did look at the Garmin and thought to myself…baby steps, girl…you’re a beginner. Buying the Garmin, for me, could be likened to purchasing Jimmy Choo Stilettos when you’ve never worn a pump. hahaha! Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

