Secret Santa In September?

Day 254: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar:0

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

 

I don’t like to complain much, even if good reason is beckoning. Mostly, I find bemoaning issues to be both counterproductive and emotionally draining. May I point out that venting and complaining are two entirely different things, and the distinction should be made between them. Venting about multiple issues in the same conversation, however, transitions one immediately to the ultimate complaint. Because I don’t want to get into it, nor be guilty of complaint, I will forgo the opportunity to fully elaborate on my week full of frustration, disappointment and dejection.  However, one issue, more specifically my health, troubled me. I’ve been battling some pretty aggressive headaches for the past few weeks, and elevated blood pressure for the past few months. Despite some very significant health and lifestyle changes, the battle here continues.  Yesterday afternoon, I finally decided to visit the doctor where after 3 readings, my blood pressure was consistently 130/100 which is elevated for a young(ish) healthy person.  Because I didn’t have a causative explanation for this new-found struggle, I felt very discouraged.  Pile on stress at work over new roles, reassignment, colleagues, hurt egos, and the throes of family life and suddenly you’re on a high-speed emotional roller coaster with no brake.

Today, still fresh with yesterday’s troubles, I made my way to work. After a day of customer calls and  sitting on a two-hour conference call, then rushing to make my 6:00 church rehearsal, I was feeling pretty beat down. I couldn’t even bring myself to stay for the service because my emotions had shifted to “cry-on-command” mode and I knew if someone were to even speak to me, I may meltdown. So, I left. Tears streaming down my face, I just let myself  have a good cry. You know, the RELEASE kind. It’s not a woes me kind of sorrow, but rather a “let her rip” stress relief.  I cried all the way from 1350 East Main Street home.

About an hour later,when Steve and the kids came home they were carrying an Ann Taylor bag.

“What’s that?”

“I don’t know. Somebody left it for you in Olivia’s nursery/”

“Oh.”

Thinking it may be something of the children’s’ that I left somewhere I stuck my hand in the bag. To my complete astonishment, it was the cutest outfit. Fun little black & white animal print skirt with a sleeveless black ruffled blouse! ADORABLE!  And, it fit perfectly!  I rummaged through the bag looking for a card or note. I could find nothing.  Is there really a Secret Santa in September??? I felt tears welling behind my eyes, but I’d already cried in front of my husband once today so I had to pull it together.

“This is unbelievable! Who would do something so nice!?”

I don’t know who you are. But, you clearly know me well. It was perfect and your timing impeccable. I really wish I could squeeze the neck of the sweet soul who is so thoughtful. You have no idea how much this cheered me up and encouraged my heart. Tomorrow, I will post a picture!

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

