The Pumpkin Patrol Is On the Loose.

Day 243: Items Purchased:0, Temptation Radar: 0

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Ahhh. The hint of fall is in the air. Not really. Actually, it’s still hotter than Hades here and the only breeze I felt was from traffic passing as I sat quite impatiently, stopped on the highway, waiting for the person in front of me so I could pull into Starbucks. When September rolls around, I can think of few things more important than finding the answer to one simple question: “Excuse me, do you have the Pumpkin Spice Latte yet?”  Yep. That’s it.  Today, I asked with all the hopefulness of a child on Christmas morning.

“No.”

“Oh. (long pause). Okay.” ( A very dejected okay)

“Monday is the first day….but….”

“Yea????”

“I like you, so you get one today.”

“Really?

After she swore me to secrecy (which I’ve clearly blown here), the deal was made and I pulled off with my non-fat, no whip, pumpkin spice latte.  Wearing my white shorts, sweating bullets, and grinning from ear to ear, I sipped the little piece of pumpkin heaven! Let the Labor Day festivities begin!  It got me thinking about all things pumpkin, actually. So, next I stalked IHOP to see when those delicious pumpkin pancakes would be making their fall debut.   Yes, for many this week New York Fashion Week, along with Fashion Night Out is all the buzz. But for this shop-starved girl, it’s all about getting fat and sassy and celebrating seasonal favorites for my tummy. I can’t buy a skirt, but I can pummel some flapjacks. As devoted Pumpkin Patrol, I feel it vitally important to make the community at large aware of these special treats. Enjoy the recipe..

Let the pumpkin pomp & circumstance begin.
Leave a Reply

