The Pressure Cooker Solution: Keep Calm & Go Shopping…or not.

Day 199: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar:0

Tumultuous. That’s the word of the day…perhaps the theme of the whole week. It seems as though every time I’m on the brink of something fun and exciting, gale force winds of challenging circumstance blow in to remind me that I shall really have to earn my break. I am looking quite forward to celebrating Steve’s birthday in an undisclosed location this weekend, leaving 2 very excited children with 6 equally excited cousins, aunt & uncle. So, in preparation for the big adventure, I’ve had an action packed week at work including, but not limited to, an insanely challenging live simulation assessment. Talk about pressure!  My job required that I call a into a 3rd party line today, and be quizzed 20 rapid fire questions about disease states, science, clinical studies and competitive products over the course of 30 minutes. Having no ability to reference any sales materials, the pressure was on. By the time I finished, I had the most excruciating headache and experienced shortness of breath. Mild panic? I’ll say. Other things on my mind included Olivia’s upcoming tonsillectomy, Owen’s 5th birthday party , additional work exams and administrative requirements. Sometimes I feel like I’m in a complete pressure cooker.  Today, I thought deeply about all of this and wanted nothing more than to keep calm and go shopping. Instead, I turned to deliberate pauses, prayer, deep breathing, and shopping prohibition.

It never ceases to amaze me  though, that in spite of  being in the boiler, I still find inspiration at the perfect time, often in unexpected places. A quick visit to The Stationery Loft today reminded me of how I value friends who care and an encouraging word. The girls there always know how to make me smile. I honestly don’t even think they realize how much. 🙂  This evening I was able to visit a family who welcomed a new baby. The smell of newborn and the unity of family reminded me that we must, despite pressure to cave into frustration or negativity, hug tightly those we love and always be looking for ways to shine brightly.  Finally, on my way home, I snuck in a quick reformer workout that calmed my senses and helped me collect my thoughts before greeting my own family.  As I’ve said many times before, some days it’s all you can do to put one foot in front of the other.  When I make that choice, my direction becomes a little clearer and the path much brighter.

4 responses

  1. So glad you stopped by today…its always fun when you visit. Have a great weekend away and come back next week to tell us all about it!

Leave a Reply

