Don’t You Think It’s Time You Met The Local Alteration Queen?

Day 176: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar: 0 (no time to shop. I’ve been swamped at work and trying to prepare for vacation. Both my kids are a little under the weather too. yikes.)

30×30 Day 15: I still owe 2 looks, but was able to snap a shot of my duds today!

So here’s the deal: I’ve become buddies with the local seamstress. That’s right. Over the past 6 months, I’ve counted at least a half-dozen really nice items in my wardrobe sitting silently in isolation due only to their fit flaws. Whether it be a hemline in need of repair, or a side seam to take in, these shortcomings have kept me from wearing some really amazing clothes. In fact, two of my very favorite dresses were relegated to time-out last season because of my apparent alteration anxiety. Guess what? I found out that getting fitted for alterations is not nearly as time-consuming as I’d imagined. Actually a fitting takes only about 5-10 minutes, and can be easily accomplished during lunch hour. Not a hassle at all! I don’t even have to make an appointment. The most difficult part for me  is remembering to put the stuff in the car! Last week, I chose my favorite white jeans, featured below, and had them taken up an inch or so. The seamstress even restructured the original hem.

I, being thrilled with the result and the ease of it all, realized yet another opportunity today. The anticipation of an upcoming getaway with my husband thrust me into a “longing for Lilly” state of mind. Understanding that it would most certainly be an impossibility to score a Lilly Pulitzer in the heat of Shopfast, unless Santa truly comes in July,  I began brainstorming a solution…within my  own closet. I rescued the 2 aforementioned dresses from timeout and took them to the alterations spa for a facelift. For one, it was simply taking up the straps that solved the problem. For the other, I had side seams taken in and the whole dress shortened for a fun and flirty look.

So, here’s my challenge to you; peradventure you are tempted to purchase something new this week, I ask you to rummage your closet. Choose one item that needs a pick-me-up, locate your local alterations station and take it in for an adjustment. Snap a picture and share with me what you did. I would love to see what we can all do in the repair department. Think of it as a rescue mission! Your clothes need you!  Maybe it’s as simple as your favorite shirt with a missing button…or perhaps something more intense like reconstructing a dress or top. Whatever the case may be, share your story! I’d love to pick some favorites and share them on the blog. Anybody in? Link up here!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

