Work. Work. Work. Barf.

Day 166: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar: 4

I WANT TO BE DONE WITH SHOPFAST. Whew….I feel better. Glad I got that out.

Work. Work. Work. Sometimes I feel like it’s all I do. Whether it’s my career, my children, chores, hobbies….seems I’m just inundated with work.  Even holidays are work. I think American society has done an excellent job in creating this labor intensive vibe around everything from getting dressed in the morning to honoring a loved one on a birthday or Father’s Day.  Yesterday, I actually did 6 loads of laundry for 4 people.;Sheets, towels and the 27 outfits that my children decided to wear throughout the day. I have no idea where they picked up on the change-your-outfit-14 times game. Nevertheless, I felt like I was in the sea of never-ending to-do yesterday and it made me C-R-A-N-K-Y.

My response to my new-found crankiness? I ignored my blog, partly because by the time I got outside to self-portrait, I’d survived the last-minute Father’s Day Rush at Target, fought victoriously for my preferred greeting card and survived a torrential down pour without an umbrella and my frustration level was high. Sigh. Standing on the back lawn, with humidity assaulting my hair, you can imagine my frustration with a tripod and a camera. I rarely get the thing in focus. I feel like an idiot standing in the middle of the neighborhood photographing myself. Daily Disaster. Let me just tell you one thing I will be buying, quite unapologetically, in the not so distant future: A NEW CAMERA LENS. Although, I don’t think that will help my hair.

This outfit for me is all about texture. I’m a fan of mixing and matching textures….especially in a more monochromatic look.  My favorite part of this outfit was the necklace and attaching a hair pin to it. It actually worked well.

2 responses

  1. You look beautiful as always! I am very impressed with your fast and 30 day challenge. I have succumbed to the Saks sale of the season, but have not really shopped in 3 summers.

    Also thrilled to hear about your Pilates. It is amazing. After our first…now 8 years old born, it became a passion and still is. If you ever have time you ought to try a class with Mallory at Wave Pilates in Tampa.

    Have a good Sunday,
    Susannah

    • Hi Susannah! 🙂 You are such an encourager. Thank you. 🙂 So, tell me…was the Saks sale insane? Ok. Wait. Don’t tell me. lol. I did check out the Wave Pilates website. Very interesting. It would be fun to try a class. I’ll look into it. Hope you had a weekend!

Leave a Reply

