My Flirty Skirty

Day 156, Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar: 0

I did it!  I actually finished sewing my skirt. As I mentioned in a post awhile back, I’ve always wanted to learn how to sew.  My mother is beyond gifted in this area and is a brilliant dressmaker.  She is the ultimate DIY’er. And, might I add, she was “doing it herself” before domestically industrious mammas were trendy.  Nevertheless, with the quest to expand my horizons this year, I started a sewing class.  You can read more about it here.  https://shopfast.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/unleashing-the-sewing-secret-understanding-the-power-of-the-remnant/

Anyway, I was plugging right along on this skirt, when unexpectedly I fell stricken with the worst case of hem anxiety.  Hemming a full-bodied skirt, especially on your first sewing project EVER, is extremely intimidating. You have to pin it just right, iron the creases then sew a straight line. I skipped sewing class a couple of times due to sheer panic. Finally, per my mother’s suggestion, I faced my fear and put the finishing touches on my lovely new day skirt. Are there a few crooked stitches? Of course. But, I think those little markings of character pale in comparison to the greatness of the interfacing and zipper I inserted. Oh, and I must mention, I gave that baby a blind hem. GO ME!  It has an ethereal flow and a lot of personality. I like to call it my “Little Flirty Skirty.” How fitting that I paired it with a blouse my mother made for me a couple of summers ago. No, my little labor of love is not perfect, but I made it. And, the skirt will forever remind me that we can accomplish anything, if our heart’s desire beats stronger than the challenges we face.

The best pictures I could get using my tripod in the midst of an apparent windstorm.

2 responses

  1. I love your skirt….I don’t think I’d ever attempt such a feat! Great job. Also love the top your mom created. I do have to ask what everyone probably wonders….do your neighbors look at you crazy taking photos of yourself with your tripod? 😉

Leave a Reply

