Spinning Away From Shopping.

Day 155: Items Purchased: 0 Temptation Radar: 0

About 2 weeks ago my family and I made a lifestyle change to a healthy, and organic diet. It’s amazing to learn about all of the things we are putting into our bodies. I had been suffering from severe headaches and been given treatments including prescription medicines.  Nothing seemed to get rid of them, and only provided temporary symptomatic relief. Since initiating the diet change, miraculously, I’ve not had one headache. My children actually enjoy the food I make them. In fact, upon my parents’ return from a trip to Greece, Mom said “The kids look great! It looks like Owen’s trimmed down.” Unbeknownst to her, we’d been involved in the new food selections for 10 days.  Along with the diet, I’m in love with Pilates. Training on a reformer machine has transformed my outlook on personal fitness. It engages the mind, enhances focus, strengthens, lengthens and just makes me feel great. I’ve been walk/jogging and even took a spinning class tonight. I could have died. But, I didn’t. Getting fit is getting fun. Tomorrow, when I can’t move my legs, I may have to retract that statement.

Speaking of fun, I thought I’d share a recipe for a fabulous smoothie, or as Olivia calls it a “Smoodgy”. We’ve enjoyed these for breakfast and snacks. Just delicious.

1/4 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup 1% milk, 1 teaspoon of almond butter (may substitute peanut butter), 1/2 cup frozen berries (I like an organic antioxidant mix of raspberries,strawberries & blueberries), 1 teaspoon or whey protein powder(use a full tablespoon if you’re looking for meal replacement), and 3 ice cubes. Makes 1 individual serving.

Try it. I’m serious. I’ll be watching. Just kidding. Spinning toward a healthier me. Now, I must retire for the evening, I have Pilates in the early a.m.

Leave a Reply

