The Sweet South: Part I

Friday, May 20, Day 137, Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar: 0

Things are warmer and sweeter in the South,  y’all. I’m telling ya. From sweet tea to fried green tomatoes, there is something comforting about embracing the traditions of the south.  For my dad, family roots rest firmly planted in South Carolina, the greater Charleston area to be precise. We have grown up spending summer vacations in Charleston and Myrtle Beach. Having become quite accustomed to the casual comfort and southern charm of the low country, it remains one of the places where I can find rest and refuge. Dad’s three brothers and their families reside there still. This weekend, Steven, the kids and I traveled for a visit to celebrate with my aunt and uncle the graduation of their beautiful daughter Morgan.  For me, these visits are always a joy. They live in a plantation style home nestled among acres of wooded land. It’s serene and hidden from the hustle and bustle of town. We ride golf carts, eat yummy food, and even enjoy the rare treasure of an afternoon nap. Not to mention, I always get to play around with my photography, as I see countless locations for photos. I was able to take many frames of my children, something on the to-do list for some time now. At one point, even I jumped off the golf cart and coerced Steven to take my picture in a roadside patch of wild grass. What a hoot! Needless to say,  No shopping today. I only indulged a small craving for  fresh air and southern hospitality.  Because there is much to share, I decided to offer my recollection of these days in a few posts.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

