From The Floor To The Core…..

Day 132: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar: 3….just felt like I needed something.

Amazing things begin to happen when you decide to stretch yourself. You probably think I’m talking about the challenging restraint of Shopfast, or goal-setting. Wrong. Well, I mean this Shopfast is a stretch. It is painful, yet fulfilling. However, I’m actually speaking of  my latest undertaking: Pilates.

The outcome of Pilates, as defined by experts is “balanced body which is strong and supple, flat stomach, balanced legs, and a strong back.”  The theme of this played perfectly with my 365 day shopping hiatus because obviously it takes strong backbone to resist the alluring whisper of spring fashion  and the gentle nudge of a Last Call sale at Neiman’s. It also occurred to me that taking up something beneficial such as exercise would be a move in a positive direction and provide some much-needed anti-gravitational assistance to the challenges my body has experienced in recent months.  I met bright and early with my new Pilates instructor for an hour of pretty intense education. Quickly, I learned that all of the strength in my body depends on the strength of both my core and pelvic floor. The core stability idea was familiar to me. The pelvic floor concept was both intriguing and blush worthy. Let’s just say, the mention of “thank-you” notes from female clients’ husbands along with a reference to a bedroom scene in Meryl Streep’s “It’s Complicated”, left me jaw gaping and brain spinning about how MUCH knowledge I lacked on the benefits of Pilates. With that, I was quickly harnessed on the reformer machine and working hard.

When I say that my entire body was jello-like and difficult to move for the rest of the day, I’m not exaggerating. The pelvic floor discussion reminded me of another floor upon which I sit frequently to gain clarity these days… the only place in my home where I can find solace and comfort…..

Yet, the familiarity and quietness of my closet did not seem to ease the pain inflicted upon my body. Nor did it relieve the quiet unrest that has been brewing for several days now: the Shopfast Blog is driving me nuts.

Seemingly, I’m coasting through the fast at the moment. Involved in many activities that serve as ample distraction from restyling myself, I find myself immersed in this blog, worrying about its quality and how often I post, and who’s reading, blah blah.  On more than one occasion, I’ve hissed at my family because I HAD to get a post up.

Really? Who’s holding the gun? Sitting in the closet, I began to look around at all the items hanging. More discontent began to swell. Suddenly, I feared, not only my temptation to shop, but now a creative crisis. What if I can’t think of anymore outfits to wear? What if I’ve nothing to say? My head was hurting….along with my glutes, abs and hamstrings.

And then, I remembered: it’s all about strengthening your core.

Whether or not the blog is cute, or the posts go every day makes little difference, actually. Whether or not there’s 5 pages of stories to tell or a simply quick hello, the point is not an achieve an award-winning blog. The purpose is to break free…to stretch….to strengthen.

That’s it, I guess. I mean, who knows how this will end and how I’ll feel when it’s over?The only thing to do is exercise the moment. Stretch and maximize it…..reach toward continued discovery. Strengthen along the way. Really, that was all I set out to do anyway.

Tootles! I’ve got work to do!

Leave a Reply

