The Quiet Confidence Of White Trousers

Day 127: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar:0

Something about this time of year just makes me want to wear white. Despite the drawbacks of this ethereal hue, namely its attraction to dirt and of course its magical weight gain illusion, I still find myself itching to wear it. Each spring, I update the whites of my closet. It is a perfect time to pick up some lightweight tees & tanks along with trendy trousers or skirt all in clean, crisp ivory. I have been staring at my white pants for 2 weeks now, hesitant to put them on. They are a little baggy these days and have a small stain of sorts on the thigh. Bothersome as those issues may be, such roadblocks must be overcome in order to enjoy my spring white tradition. Buttoning the trousers, I glanced at myself in the mirror this morning and offered an approving nod to the pants as they continue to remind me of fresh starts, clean slates and good looks. After all, if last season’s whites can still showcase confidently while being too baggy, slightly stained and mildly tired, then what excuse have I to pout about not being able to replace them? Even the clothes have to do their job after they’ve lost their once illustrious splendor. And so it is with me. Even when I’m not at my best, when the unknowns scream louder than the quiet confidence of my heart, I still have to put one foot in front of the other. Keeping that in mind, I was reassured and out the door.

Trousers: Ann Taylor Loft, Blouse: Hattie’s Branches, Belt: Target, Shoes: Marshall’s, Jewelry: Stella & Dot, Watch: Michele

4 responses

Leave a Reply

