It Appears As Though I Must Exercise More Than Restraint.

Day 112: Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar: 0 

Could someone please explain to me why the one thing for which I’d like to be addicted, I avoid? Why do I stare at my running shoes, the treadmill as I reach for a chocolate chip cookie? Please, can we discuss this?  I have dedicated an entire year to overcoming a shopping addiction. Yet, there is not enough super glue in the Southeast to adhere my feet to a stairmaster for 20 minutes.

Today, I actually sucked my gut in and held it in contracted position for 20 second intervals, as a form of strength training. Repeating this activity 20 times, as I stood at the sink washing dishes, my hope was that it would count as a tummy tightening exercise. I actually considered, for a moment, that it might yield a visible improvement. Housekeeping has also become a preferred exercise regimen. In fact, I let 6 loads of laundry pile up atop one basket just so I’d have substantial weight to lift. Yep, that’s the story and I’m sticking to it!

And while I’m on the subject of frustration and addiction, may I just mention that I wound up at Target Tuesday afternoon at 5:00pm? In the words of the great Bono, “like a needle needs a vein”, there I was belly up to the red cart, exhausted from a long day at work and feeling the pressure of Easter baskets looming. I actually purchased some many “potential” basket items that I’d have to give the kids 3 baskets each to fill them. Check out some of the items…..

Ridiculous, I know. I find myself in yet another purge and return situation. Today, I will continue to exercise my restraint a little more by returning unneccessary candy quantities while reminding myself that kids don’t “need” stuff to enjoy a holiday.

Leave a Reply

