An Ultimate Widow’s Revenge & The Shopping Superbowl

Day 37, Part II  Items Purchased: 0, Temptation Radar:10

Super Bowl Sunday is one of my favorite events of the year, but not for the reason  you may expect. I couldn’t care less about football. However, I do have an affinity for annual sales, and my favorite falls on SuperBowl weekend. Each year, my sister-in-law, niece and I have a tradition of visiting The Pink Palm, a Lilly Pulitzer Signature Shop. It is the boutique’s annual “Widow’s Revenge Sale”, which we’ve affectionately renamed Lillypalooza, for the sheer craziness of the selection coupled with our behavioral giddiness. The enclave houses many other lovely brands like Trina Turk, Nanette Lepore, and Britt Ryan, just to name a few.  It is especially tempting because over half the store is marked 50-60% off….for one day only. My sis-in-law Stephanie is a Lilly Loyalist, while I heart everything Trina Turk, so we always hit it big. Last year, I spent half the mortgage payment (not kidding) on clothes……all at 50% off, which clearly made it justifiable…ah hem.  This year, however, provided a very different experience. Despite my pre-arranged appointment with retail destiny, I still decided it absolutely necessary to choose everything I loved, try it all on and really feel the torture of leaving it behind. We spent three and a half hours fitting, narrowing, and making final selections. It is an endurance sport for sure. Amazingly, I walked away from this experience without spending 1 red cent. Seriously. How about the others, you ask? Well, what happens at Lillypalooza, stays at Lillypalooza. Although, I feel comfortable sharing that my girls will be looking mighty fly for many an event in their not-so-distant futures 😉

Here is the entry of the store. Takes your breath away upon arrival.  Mild hyperventilation ensued at this point.

My niece, Amelia, rockin’ the crazy cool pink silk dress. With a nod to responsibility & frugality she chose 2 other dresses instead, but will return to rescue this one soon.

My first potential pitfall. Trina Turk in Merlot. Good Gracious. This is so NOT a sincere smile. Sigh.

I mean, I just can’t. Another Trina. Figures. At this point, the melancholy is setting in, but I’m feeling unusually restrained and pretty comfortable with it. Can’t you tell?

Ok. This one was my favorite. Pictured with my sis, Stephanie, I needed serious moral support to be able to detach myself from this one. It actually had to be pried from my left hand with my right. I love dresses. I’d rather be wearing a dress than pajamas and I’ll never be a jeans & T-shirt girl. This dress rocked the party…..unfortunately, it would not be mine. Painful. Very Painful.

At the end of the day, I left happy and satisfied. It felt really great to come home and tell Steve I’d not purchased anything, as he suspected I would project my shopping addiction onto one of the children by spending lots of moo-lah on them. It’s wise to be temperate. It was satisfying to walk away from a great deal; rewarding to spend time with my family….to have my husband be proud of me and trust me in the marketplace. That experience was better than any dress I could have taken home.

6 responses

  1. oh i just LOVE the last one…i too as you well know am a dress gal…one whole side of my closet are just dresses…and now they are creeping on over to the other….i can never ever have too many dresses!…i admire your restraint…not so sure i would of had it on that last dress ❤ :).

Leave a Reply

